Skip to main content

eResources

Overview

EndNote X9 is a bibliographic referencing tool which can help you store and organise references such as journal articles, documents and website links. This resource can save you time when writing a research paper or article in Microsoft Word by allowing you to track citations and create a bibliography at the click of a button.

 

The features of using Endnote for bibliographic management include:

  • import references from databases such as Medline and ClinicalKey directly into your EndNote library

  • “cite while you write” when writing a paper and format bibliographies in different referencing styles
  • collaborate with others by compressing your Library and emailing your references, track changes made by team members and choose team member access levels 
  • store references online for remote access
  • search for full texts and attach them to your references
  • create and search your own personal database of references in an EndNote library or Libraries

Access

Access EndNote X9 on your work computer

  1. If you have an older version of EndNote on your computer create a backup of your EndNote library by going to File then click Save a copy. This is to avoid loss of data in case the upgrade causes any issues with your EndNote file.
  2. Go to SARA to create an enquiry with Digital Health Solutions and request EndNote X9 be downloaded on your computer. Ensure you provide your computer name.

Access EndNote X9 on your non-work computer 

  1. Create a backup of your EndNote library and uninstall older versions of EndNote
  2. Using your non-work computer read and agree to the terms and conditions
  3. Select the required download link based on if you have a PC (Windows), Mac or Mac with MacOS Catalina installed
  4. Enter your stafflink credentials. If you are accessing the files offsite you may also be authenticated using a token which you can elect to have sent to your email or mobile
  5. Once the installation files have downloaded open the folder which has the downloaded folder (e.g. this may be your 'Downloads' folder)
  6. Unzip the folder (e.g. on a PC you may open the folder and click 'Extract all') and choose which folder on your computer you would like to store these files
  7. Open the folder you unzipped the files to. If you are downloading EndNote on a PC there should be two files in this folder (ie: ENX9Inst and License.Dat .) If you are downloading EndNote on a Mac there should be one file in this folder (ie: EndNoteX9SiteInstaller.dmg) 
  8. Open the installation file entitled ENX9Inst (on a PC) or EndNoteX9SiteInstaller.dmg (on a Mac) and follow the prompts to complete the installation

Note: Our licence does not include EndNote for ipad

Note: Only WSLHD staff are able to download this licensed software title and EndNote can only be loaded as long as you remain a current staff member. When your association with WSLHD is finished you will need to purchase your own license

Help

Contact your local facility library for help and training on EndNote X9. 

You can also view training guides, an indepth manual and short video tutorials on the EndNote website

Training

Register for the following training through My Health Learning. Click the link below for upcoming session dates. 

DEV14044 - How to Manage Your References Using Endnote

Other training

WSLHD Libraries provides regular training on a variety of topics. Find scheduled training sessions here or fill out the training request form to arrange a tailored one-on-one or group training session.