Research

It can be very easy to lose track of your search strategy, getting distracted while following interesting byways and potentially wasting time by repeating searches or forgetting where you found something very useful. 

Top tips:

Keep a search record or diary, starting by writing out your search question and your PICO table of search keywords (or your alternative search mnemonic). Then record your searches, noting what search terms you used in which databases, whether successful or not.  This can be a simple word document. Some people like to use brainstorming or mind-mapping software / tools. Others people might just like pen and paper - whatever works for you.

Save your searches in databases so you can re-run them again.  See: instructions for saving searches in Ovid Medline

Use Reference Management software, for example Endnote to organise the articles and other resources you find. 
WSLHD Libraries offer Endnote training sessions and a one-hour session will get you started.

EndNote 21 is a bibliographic referencing tool which can help you store and organise references such as journal articles, documents and website links. This resource can save you time when writing a research paper or article in Microsoft Word by allowing you to track citations and create a bibliography at the click of a button. EndNote is available to WSLHD employees. Students can contact their educational institution for access.

The features of using Endnote for bibliographic management include:

• import references from databases such as Medline directly into your EndNote library

• “cite while you write” when writing a paper and format bibliographies in different referencing styles
• collaborate with others by compressing your Library and emailing your references, track changes made by team members and choose team member access levels 
• store references online for remote access
• search for full texts and attach them to your references
• create and search your own personal database of references in an EndNote library or Libraries

EndNote is available to WSLHD employees. Students can contact their educational institution for access.

Access EndNote 21 on your work computer

1. If you have an older version of EndNote on your computer create a backup of your EndNote library by going to File then click Save a copy. This is to avoid loss of data in case the upgrade causes any issues with your EndNote file.
2. Go to SARA to create an enquiry with Digital Health Solutions and request EndNote 20 be downloaded on your computer. Ensure you provide your computer name. Ask them to uninstall any older versions of Endnote.

**Endnote 21 is not compatible with Windows 8.1. Please submit a SARA request to upgrade to Windows 10 before requesting installation of Endnote 21, otherwise request Endnote 20.

Access EndNote 21 on your non-work computer 

1. Create a backup of your EndNote library and uninstall older versions of EndNote
2. Using your non-work computer read and agree to the terms and conditions
3. Select the required download link based on if you have a PC (Windows) or Mac. Endnote 21 is compatible with Windows 10 and later. See full compatibility requirements.
4. Enter your email and stafflink credentials when prompted. If you are accessing the files remotely outside the hospital network (e.g. home computer) you will also be authenticated using a verification code which you can elect to have sent to your email or mobile
5. Once the installation files have downloaded open the folder which has the downloaded folder. The files could be in your 'Downloads' folder or a link to the recently downloaded folder could appear on your browser.
6. Unzip the folder (e.g. on a PC you may open the folder and click 'Extract all') and choose which folder on your computer you would like to store these files. It's essential you save the files on your computer or the download won't work and you will be asked for a license key.
7. Open the folder you unzipped the files to. If you are downloading EndNote on a PC there should be two files in this folder (ie: EN21Inst and License.Dat .) If you are downloading EndNote on a Mac there should be one file in this folder (ie: EndNote21SiteInstaller.dmg) 
8. Open the installation file entitled EN21Inst (on a PC) or EndNote21SiteInstaller.dmg (on a Mac) and follow the prompts to complete the installation

Note: Our licence does not include EndNote for ipad

Note: Only WSLHD staff are able to download this licensed software title and EndNote can only be loaded as long as you remain a current staff member. When your association with WSLHD is finished you will need to purchase your own license