Databases - LGBTQ+ Health - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health - Guides at Western Sydney Local Health District

Searching for Articles

Search terms in most medical databases are from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Use these terms to enhance your search outcomes.

Health Services, Indigenous
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (MeSH Heading)
Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples (MeSH Heading)
Australia

Other keywords

Indigenous
Aboriginal
Torres Strait Islander
Torres Strait
Australia
First Nation

CIAP - Clinical Information Access Portal

CIAP (Clinical Information Access Portal) This link opens in a new window
CIAP provides clinical information to the NSW public health system to support evidence-based practice at the point of care.

CIAP Specialty Guide Aboriginal Health Guideline & Policies

Click here to try our Ovid Search

Ovid Discovery

Ovid Discovery enables you to search across CIAP and Library resources including the Library catalogue, ClinicalKey, ClinicalKey Nursing and Proquest. Use the links below to search your Hospital Library holdings

Library Databases (additional to CIAP)

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
1000+ textbooks, 500+ journals, practice guidelines, drug info, and 5,000+ patient handouts in English and Spanish. Also includes First Consult, ProceduresConsult, over 13,000 videos and millions of images. You can filter your search results by clinically meaningful subcategories (content type, specialty, disease, and more). Register for a free personal account to access all site features (like downloading e-Book PDFs): Sign up for an account.
ClinicalKey for Nursing This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey for Nursing provides access to content relevant to Nurses and other health professionals including full-text books and journals, customisable patient education handouts, videos, images, practice guidelines and clinical trials.
Proquest Health Research Premium Collection‎ This link opens in a new window
Clinical, biomedical and health journals; dissertation research; and curriculum-based health videos supporting clinical care and education.
Psychology and Behavioural Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of full text journals covering topics such as child and adolescent psychology and counselling. Access via MyAthens.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link is via Athens so you get access to subscription full-text. Google Scholar searches across content from academic sites including publishers, universities and research organisations. Features include citation searching and author profiles.
Trip Medical Database This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and patient care.
Informit Indigenous Collection This link opens in a new window
Informit Indigenous Collection covers both topical and historical issues within Indigenous studies. The multi-disciplinary and inter-disciplinary framework provides access to emergent and ground-breaking research within the global community and offers scope for critical international engagement and debate. With material from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and the Pacific, this Collection is a platform for Indigenous worldviews.

MyAthens and Remote Access

MyAthens
Registering for an Athens account will allow you remote access to Library subscriptions to individual titles as well as the collections within ClinicalKey, ClinicalKey Nursing and ProQuest (but not CIAP).

Search Filters

Lowitja Institute Lit Search This link opens in a new window
This search tool provides easy access to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature on the PubMed database. Look at all literature or choose one of 27 topic searches.
NSQHS Standards - Live Literature Search This link opens in a new window
Partnering with Consumers
MJA - Medical Journal of Australia This link opens in a new window
Aboriginal and Torres strait Islander health related articles published by MJA

PubMed
Click to try our PubMed Search