Search across all of the library ebooks including CIAP, ClinicalKey and ClinicalKey for Nursing.
Use the Library Catalogue (Spydus) to find books. To search our library catalogue click here. Note:
For help, contact us or see:
Borrowing
Aren't a member of the Library yet? Join here
You can recommend a book for the Peter Zelas or Mount Druitt Hospital Library to purchase. Click here.
Access to 45,000 printed books are available from Your Hospital Libraries.
These books are available for borrowing from the Library and are just a small selection of what's on offer in your subject area.
Occupational Therapy: Current Trends and Techniques by
Occupational therapy is an allied health profession, which is concerned with the use of interventions and assessments to recover, maintain, and develop meaningful activities for individuals, groups or communities. It has developed owing to the philosophical ideals of humanism, pragmatism and romanticism. It primarily works with people who suffer from injuries, disabilities, health problems or impairments. Support for adults experiencing physical and cognitive impairment, injury rehabilitation and assistance to children with disabilities are under the scope of this field. Some common models which form the framework of practice of this field include person environment occupation performance model, cognitive-behavioral frame of reference, model of human occupation, the recovery model, etc. The objective of this book is to give a general view of the different areas and practices of occupational therapy. It elucidates the modern trends and techniques of this healthcare profession. Those in search of information to further their knowledge will be greatly assisted by this text.
Introduction to Occupational Therapy by
Prepare for success in OT practice with a complete overview of the profession! Introduction to Occupational Therapy, 5th Edition helps you master the roles and responsibilities of the OT practitioner. Content promotes evidence-based OT practice, from client evaluation to planning interventions and goals to reaching optimal outcomes. You'll also learn valuable skills in clinical reasoning and in providing occupational therapy across the client's entire lifespan. Written by experienced educator and author Jane Clifford O'Brien, this comprehensive resource discusses today's OT treatment settings and adds a new chapter on cultural competence. Complete coverage of OT practice prepares you for care in areas such as adult, pediatric, geriatric, and mental health. A broad perspective fits the needs of both Occupational Therapy and Occupational Therapy Assistant students. Case studies and activities in each chapter help you apply concepts and develop problem-solving skills. Emphasis on evidence-based practice helps you learn to think logically and use research literature to formulate diagnoses and treatment plans. The OT Practice Framework provides a sound basis for decision making, defining occupational therapy areas of concern and the OT process. Chapter objectives, key terms, chapter summaries, and review questions highlight important content in each chapter. Student resources on the Evolve companion website include review questions with answers along with crossword puzzles to reinforce what you've learned in the book. NEW content on OT theory and practice includes the latest updates to the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework and OT Code of Ethics. New coverage of the role of certified Occupational Therapy Assistants shows where OTAs are employed, what licensure requirements they must meet, and how they fit into the scope of OT practice. NEW chapter on cultural competence provides the tools you need to work with culturally diverse clients in today's healthcare environment, and includes case studies with examples of cultural competence and its impact on the practice of OT. NEW Centennial Vision commentary provides a 'big picture' view of today's occupational therapy, and shows how OT is becoming a powerful, widely recognized, science-driven, and evidence-based profession as it reaches the age of 100.
Occupational Therapy: Current Trends and Techniques by
Occupational therapy is an allied health profession, which is concerned with the use of interventions and assessments to recover, maintain, and develop meaningful activities for individuals, groups or communities. It has developed owing to the philosophical ideals of humanism, pragmatism and romanticism. It primarily works with people who suffer from injuries, disabilities, health problems or impairments. Support for adults experiencing physical and cognitive impairment, injury rehabilitation and assistance to children with disabilities are under the scope of this field. Some common models which form the framework of practice of this field include person environment occupation performance model, cognitive-behavioral frame of reference, model of human occupation, the recovery model, etc. The objective of this book is to give a general view of the different areas and practices of occupational therapy. It elucidates the modern trends and techniques of this healthcare profession. Those in search of information to further their knowledge will be greatly assisted by this text.
Occupational Therapy in Australia by
A foundational textbook for occupational therapy undergraduates providing a guide to practice issues in the Australian context.
Pediatric Skills for Occupational Therapy Assistants by
Learn to provide effective therapy for children and adolescents with Pediatric Skills for Occupational Therapy Assistants, 4th Edition. This market-leading text offers a comprehensive, application-focused guide to pediatric occupational therapy assisting by incorporating the AOTA Practice Framework. The text's focused and easy-to-use approach to pediatrics covers everything from the scope of practice to in-depth coverage of normal development, pediatric health conditions, and treatment planning. This new edition has also been thoroughly updated and expanded to include new content and chapters on community systems, physical agent modalities, the Model of Human Occupation assessments, childhood obesity, documentation, neurodevelopmental treatment, and concepts of elongation. UNIQUE! Video clips on the Evolve companion website show pediatric clients involved in a variety of occupational therapy interventions to demonstrate how concepts apply to actual practice. UNIQUE! Clinical Pearls boxes highlight expert advice and tips from the authors and contributors. Case examples provide snapshots of real-life situations to show how key concepts apply to real-life situations. Evidence-based content incorporates clinical trials and outcome studies to demonstrate the evidentiary basis for OTA practice. Inclusion of cultural diversity and sensitivity issues familiarize readers with the diverse groups of people that OTAs treat in practice. Incorporation of prevention information demonstrates that the OTA's role goes beyond intervention and treatment. Family-centered perspective uses the terminology of the AOTA Practice Framework to focus on tailoring the OT approach to meet the needs of children within the context of their own environments. Review questions and summaries at the end of each chapter help readers assess and evaluate what they have learned. Suggested activities in each chapter help readers bridge the gap between the classroom and the clinic. Key terms, chapter outlines, and chapter objectives at the beginning of each chapter prepare readers for the information they're expected to learn from the chapter. User resources on Evolve companion site include a variety of activities to help reinforce the material in the text, including: video clips and review questions. NEW! Content on emerging areas of practice (such as community systems) broadens readers' awareness of where interventions for children can take place. NEW! Content on physical agent modalities (PAMS) outlines the theory and application of PAMS as used by OTAs with pediatric clients. NEW! Pediatric MOHO assessments that are now available in the chapter on Model of Human Occupation (MOHO) assessments describe how these assessments can help with intervention. NEW! Content on childhood obesity, documentation, neurodevelopmental treatment, and concepts of elongation have been added to keep readers abreast of the latest trends and problems.
Occupational Therapy with Elders by
Get the focused foundation you need to successfully work with older adults. Occupational Therapy with Elders: Strategies for the COTA, 4th Edition is the only comprehensive book on geriatric occupational therapy designed specifically for the certified occupational therapy assistant. It provides in-depth coverage of each aspect of geriatric practice - from wellness and prevention to death and dying. Expert authors Helene Lohman, Sue Byers-Connon, and René Padilla offer an unmatched discussion of diverse populations and the latest on geriatric policies and procedures in this fast-growing area of practice. You will come away with a strong foundation in aging trends and strategies for elder care in addition to having a deep understanding of emerging areas such as low-vision rehabilitation, driving and mobility issues, Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia, new technological advancements, health literacy, public policy, dignity therapy, and more. Plus, you will benefit from 20 additional evidence briefs and numerous case studies to help apply all the information you learn to real-life practice. It's the focused, evidence-based, and client-centered approach that every occupational therapy assistant needs to effectively care for today's elder patients. UNIQUE! Focus on the occupational therapy assistant highlights the importance of COTAs to the care of elder clients. Unique! Attention to diverse populations and cultures demonstrates how to respect and care for clients of different backgrounds. UNIQUE! Discussion of elder abuse, battered women, and literacy includes information on how the OTA can address these issues that are often overlooked. User resources on Evolve feature learning activities to help you review what you have learned and assess your comprehension. Case studies at the end of certain chapters illustrate principles and help you understand content as it relates to real-life situations. Multidisciplinary approach demonstrates the importance of collaboration between the OT and OTA by highlighting the OTA's role in caring for the elderly and how they work in conjunction with occupational therapists. Key terms, chapter objectives, and review questions are found in each chapter to help identify what information is most important. NEW! 20 Additional evidence briefs have been added to reinforce this book's evidence-based client-centered approach. NEW! Incorporation of EMR prevalence and telehealth as a diagnostic and monitoring tool have been added throughout this new edition. NEW! Expanded content on mild cognitive impairment, health literacy, and chronic conditions have been incorporated throughout the book to reflect topical issues commonly faced by OTs and OTAs today. NEW! Coverage of technological advancements has been incorporated in the chapter on sensory impairments. NEW! Other updated content spans public policy, HIPAA, power of attorney, advanced directives, alternative treatment settings, dignity therapy, and validation of the end of life. NEW! Merged chapters on vision and hearing impairments create one sensory chapter that offers a thorough background in both areas.