Guides: Intensive Care: Databases CIAP and more

CIAP

CIAP (Clinical Information Access Portal)

CIAP is a fantastic resource, made available by NSW Health. Think of it as an extensive specialist online Library collection with databases, online journals, e-books, links to procedures and guidelines and much more. In the intensive care subject area, aside form general databases such as Medline and Embase you will also be able to access Emcare a nursing database, BMJ Best Practice, the Australian Injectable Drug Handbook and MIMS. Your Staff Link login can be used to access CIAP offsite. You can also download mobile apps for many CIAP resources such as UptoDate and MIMS.

Ovid Discovery

Ovid Discovery enables you to search across CIAP and Library resources including the Library catalogue, ClinicalKey, ClinicalKey Nursing and Proquest. Use the links below to search your Hospital Library holdings

Library Databases (additional to CIAP)

ClinicalKey
1000+ textbooks, 500+ journals, practice guidelines, drug info, and 5,000+ patient handouts in English and Spanish. Also includes First Consult, ProceduresConsult, over 13,000 videos and millions of images. You can filter your search results by clinically meaningful subcategories (content type, specialty, disease, and more).
ClinicalKey for Nursing
ClinicalKey for Nursing provides access to content relevant to Nurses and other health professionals including full-text books and journals, customisable patient education handouts, videos, images, practice guidelines and clinical trials.
Proquest Health Research Premium Collection‎
Clinical, biomedical and health journals; dissertation research; and curriculum-based health videos supporting clinical care and education.
Psychology and Behavioural Sciences Collection
Provides access to hundreds of full text journals covering topics such as child and adolescent psychology and counselling. Access via MyAthens.
Google Scholar
This link is via Athens so you get access to subscription full-text. Google Scholar searches across content from academic sites including publishers, universities and research organisations. Features include citation searching and author profiles.

Trip Medical Database This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and patient care.

MyAthens and remote access

MyAthens This link opens in a new window
Registering for an Athens account will allow you remote access to Library subscriptions to individual titles as well as the collections within ClinicalKey, ClinicalKey Nursing and ProQuest (but not CIAP).

Personal accounts

Databases offer additional functionality if you create a personal account. For example if you set up an account in the CIAP Ovid databases (which includes Medline, Embase, Emcare and PsycINFO) you can:

save items into a personal workspace
save searches (so you can re-run them later)
set up alerts on searches (so new items matching your search will be emailed to you)
set up alerts on journal titles (informing you as new issues come out)

You can also sign up for personal accounts in other databases including ClinicalKey, ClinicalKey for Nursing, Ovid Discovery and Proquest.

For more information, please refer to the Current Awareness section of this guide.