There are millions of articles being published every year and it is time-consuming to conduct a thorough literature search, with due consideration for the relevance and quality of the research evidence published. To assist busy NSW Health staff the following resources are available via CIAP (Clinical Information Access Portal) providing summaries of current research evidence.
Systematic reviews summarise the evidence for the effectiveness of specific healthcare interventions. Evidence from controlled trials is usually preferred, which should be carefully designed to reduce bias. Where possible numerical data from trials is pooled through meta-analysis in order to establish the benefit (or harm) of a treatment.
The following is a sample of books that contains relevant information on evidence-based practice in allied health.
Find more books on Evidence Based Practice in the Library Catalogue ...
Evidence-Based Practice Across the Health Professions by
Evidence-based Practice across the Health Professions is a contemporary guide to modern evidence-based practice. Fully revised and updated, it continues to keep the focus on the knowledge and skills that clinicians and students really need to make evidence-based informed decisions. It provides a foundation to help you to better ponder what clinical questions to ask, know ways to efficiently find research that answers those questions, know how to decide whether the results of research are believable, important and applicable and use good evidence with patients to provide healthcare as responsibly, effectively and collaboratively as possible. Featuring a multi-disciplinary approach with contributions from international and national leaders in evidence-based practice, this new edition now includes 15 health disciplines, including: - Clinical exercise physiology; Optometry &; - Complementary and alternative medicine; - Human movement (exercise science); Pharmacy; - Medical imaging; Physiotherapy; Medicine; Podiatry; - Nursing;- Radiation Therapy; Nutrition and dietetics; Speech pathology; - Occupational Therapy
Practical Evidence-Based Physiotherapy by
Printed book plus PageburstT access - you will receive a printed book and access to the complete book content electronically. PageburstT enhances learning by not only bringing world class content to your fingertips but also letting you add to it, annotate it, and categorize it all in a way that suits you. PageburstT frees you to spend more time learning and less time searching. Evidence-based practice has become a central part of physiotherapy today, but it is still an area which is constantly expanding and being updated. Written by an international team of experts, this second edition continues to outline the basic definitions of evidence-based practice and clinical reasoning, while detailing how to find and critically appraise evidence and clinical practice guidelines and the steps to follow in the implementation and evaluation of evidence. For those struggling to understand both the concepts and how to implement them, this book will prove to be an invaluable and practical guide. Considers how both quantitative and qualitative research can be used to answer clinical questions Written for readers with different levels of expertise Highlighted critical points and text box summaries (basic) Detailed explanations in text (intermediate) Footnotes (advanced) Presents detailed strategies for searching physiotherapy-relevant databases Extensive consideration of clinical practice guidelines Chapter asking the question: When and how should new therapies be introduced into clinical practice? Search strategies Evaluating quality of interventions Placebo effects Meta-regression
Leading and Managing Occupational Therapy Services by 
Introduction to Communication Disorders: a Lifespan Evidence-Based Approach, Global Edition by
For introductory courses in communication sciences and disorders A clear, comprehensive introduction to communication sciences and disorders, with an evidence-based, lifespan perspective. This text provides a thorough introduction to communication sciences and disorders designed for undergraduate-level students. The new Fifth Edition continues the evidence-based, lifespan perspective. It reviews and explains the most recent research evidence pertaining to the assessment and treatment of communication disorders from birth through the end of life in a clear, comprehensible fashion. Each chapter is concise, yet provides comprehensive information appropriate for an introductory-level text. Students gain a basic foundation in the areas of anatomy and physiology of the speech and hearing mechanisms, and an overview of the various disorders that affect voice, fluency, articulation, language, cognition, swallowing, and hearing, along with detailed descriptions of the varying etiologies that cause these impairments. The authors describe specific evaluation procedures and tools for each disorder, and discuss efficacious management approaches and techniques for both child and adult populations. Case studies, evidence-based practice summary boxes, video examples, and technical and photographic illustrations are featured in each chapter as a means to maximide the student's learning experience. In addition, Check Your Understanding and thought questions are also provided in each chapter to ensure student comprehension of information.
Evidence-Based Medicine by
Now in its fifth edition, this classic introduction to the practice and teaching of evidence-based medicine is written for busy clinicians at any stage of their career who want to learn how to practise and teach evidence-based medicine (EBM). It is short and practical, emphasizing direct clinical application of EBM and tactics to practise and teach EBM in real-time. The online toolkit includes Critical appraisal worksheets, Educational prescription, Pocket Cards, EBM calculators, Educational Prescriptions, Clinical Questions log, Self evaluations. Thoroughly updated with examples from latest evidence/studies. Revised electronic ancillaries, now available online Expanded coverage of audit and measuring quality improvement. Teaching moments now indexed for easy reference. New contributing authors Reena Pattani and Areti Angeliki Veroniki
Find more books on Evidence Based Practice in the Library Catalogue ...
