Guides: Perioperative Nursing: Patient information

WSLHD Information for patients and carers

WSLHD Information
Information to help in preparing for a visit or stay in a WSLHD service

Patient education via CIAP

Information is empowering and also increases the likelihood patients and their carers will be able to adhere to medical advice. There are a number of valuable resources available to help patients to understand their condition, diagnosis, medications and procedures.

The following can be found via CIAP Patient Education:

Access Medicine
Better Health Channel
BMJ Best Practice
Health Direct
MIMS
Natural Medicines
NSW Multicultural Health Communication Service
Therapeutic Guidelines
UpToDate

Also the CIAP Speciality Guides all link to patient information sources relevant to particular specialities

Finding patient information in CIAP databases

Access Medicine Patient information
This link goes to A-Z list of patient handouts - US based resources
Better Health Channel
Funded by Victorian Government to provide health information to the public. Browse by condition, test or treatment and body part. Includes articles on healthy living.
BMJ Best Practice
Browse patient leaflets or search for a condition and see patient leaflets linked under Resources
Health Direct
A federal and state resource which provides "quality, approved health information and advice". Browse A-Z list of all topics or see lists of conditions, symptoms, drugs and
MIMS
MIMS includes Consumer Medicine Information (CMI) leaflets on pharmaceuticals available in Australia. MIMS can be searched by brand or generic name or ingredient.
Natural medicines
Information on dietary supplements, natural medicines and complementary therapies. Search on a topic then find patient handouts linked from the professional-level articles
NSW Multicultural Health Communication Service
This service is dedicated to supporting CALD (culturally and linguistically diverse) communities in NSW. Website includes more than 500 multilingual publications.
Therapeutic Guidelines
eTG provides therapeutic information for a range of diseases from an Australian perspective. It includes patient information sheets which can be accessed via 'Quick links' in the top menu.
UpToDate
UpToDate offers two levels of patient content - Basics and Beyond the Basics. You can browse patient information by topic or search for your topic and see linked patient information.

Finding patient education via ClinicalKey and ClinicalKey Nursing

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
1000+ textbooks, 500+ journals, practice guidelines, drug info, and 5,000+ patient handouts in English and Spanish. Also includes First Consult, ProceduresConsult, over 13,000 videos and millions of images. You can filter your search results by clinically meaningful subcategories (content type, specialty, disease, and more). Register for a free personal account to access all site features (like downloading e-Book PDFs): Sign up for an account.
ClinicalKey for Nursing This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey for Nursing provides access to content relevant to Nurses and other health professionals including full-text books and journals, customisable patient education handouts, videos, images, practice guidelines and clinical trials.

Perioperative Nursing

WSLHD Information for patients and carers

Patient education via CIAP

Finding patient information in CIAP databases

Finding patient education via ClinicalKey and ClinicalKey Nursing

Other useful links