Browse our library catalogue for books on perioperative nursing by clicking here
Use Ovid Discovery to find relevant e-Books from CIAP, ClinicalKey, ClinicalKey Nursing and Proquest.
All-In-One Nursing Care Planning Resource by
Introducing a plan for success with the only nursing care planning reference book for all core clinical areas! Swearingen's All-In-One Nursing Care Planning Resource, 5th Edition features over 100 care plans including medical-surgical, maternity/OB, pediatrics, and psychiatric'mental health to help you care for patients in any setting. This new edition is the first in the market to include a unique, interprofessional, "patient problem" focus which teaches you how to speak to patients in conversational terms rather than in nursing-specific language. New non-med-surg care plans and updated content throughout reflects the latest evidence-based treatment guidelines for national and international clinical practice. Plus, with its clear approach, easy-to-use format, and straightforward rationales, you'll be able to use this one book throughout your entire nursing program! Bolded and highlighted Safety Icons corresponds to the safety competency of the Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) initiative for easier recognition. Care plans for all four major clinical areas include medical-surgical, OB/maternity, pediatric, and psychiatric-mental health nursing care plans. A consistent format for each care plan enables you to perform faster searches, with headings for Overview/Pathophysiology, Health Care Setting, Assessment, Diagnostic Tests, Patient Problems, Desired Outcomes, Interventions with Rationales, and Patient-Family Teaching and Discharge Planning. Prioritized patient problems are listed in order of importance and physiologic patient needs. Detailed rationales for each nursing intervention help you apply concepts to specific patient situations in clinical practice. Full-color design makes the book more user friendly and includes color-coded tabs and improved cross-referencing and navigation aids for faster information retrieval. NEW! UNIQUE! Interprofessional "patient problems" focus familiarizes you with how to speak to patients and other medical colleagues in the consistent interprofessional language of "patient problems," rather than the'nursing-specific language of nursing diagnosis. NEW! Care plans helps you to support the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer/questioning, or intersex patient. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest evidence-based treatment guidelines and national and international clinical practice guidelines.
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z by 
Brunner and Suddarth's Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing by
Highly readable and rich with engaging case studies and learning tools, Brunner & Suddarth's Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, 14th Edition (One-Volume) delivers the complete nursing foundation students need in a format designed for the way they like to learn. This approachable text is accompanied by callouts, questions, and vignettes to help students explore essential patient care practices in real-world terms and gain a more practical understanding of how they'll apply what they've learned in practice. Trusted by instructors, students, and practicing nurses for more than 50 years, the 14th edition of this landmark resource has been comprehensively updated to reflect the latest research and practices and keep pace with the transition from critical care to home care, ethics, and genetics. Complete integration with Lippincott CoursePoint allows you to easily map out your entire course, provide personalized student remediation, and simulate real-world nursing scenarios based directly on vignettes in the text, giving your students unparalleled preparation for success in the medical-surgical nursing workforce. Key Features in the 14th Edition: NEW! New chapter on assessment and management of patients with obesity including expanded content on gastric and duodenal disorders. NEW! Interdisciplinary feature in every chapter. Nursing students should be educated in an environment that provides such interdisciplinary educational experiences based on mutual understanding and respect and designed to enhance the practice of each discipline. EXPANDED! Immunodeficiency chapter includes updated HIV infection and AIDS content. UPDATED! The following units have been revised Immunologic Function, Digestive and Gastrointestinal Function, and Metabolic and Endocrine Function. Concept Mastery Alerts clarify difficult concepts, informed by data from Misconception Alert questions in PrepU for Brunner & Suddarth's Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing , 12e. Quality and Safety Nursing Alerts build upon previous edition's Nursing Alerts to highlight issues related to quality and safety nursing care. UPDATED! The unit openers include new Case Studies with QSEN Competency Focus to highlight a competency and related knowledge, skills, and attitudes. Additional information for these case studies related to NANDA-I, NIC, NOC and the nursing process is available online. Prioritization Questions have been added to the Critical Thinking Exercises . Genetics Charts and Ethical Dilemma Charts have been revised to reflect the latest advances in the field. Critical care information has been updated to further the authors' goal to have the most up-to-date and clinically relevant content on critical care throughout the book. The Table of Contents has been reorganized for a more logical sequence and flow. Nursing Process sections, Plans of Nursing Care , and Critical Care sections More than 2,900 NCLEX-style review questions Assessment Charts, Risk Factor Charts, Guidelines Charts , Genetics in Nursing Practice Charts, Patient Education Charts, Health Promotion Charts , Ethics and Related Issues Charts , and Pharmacology Charts and tables. Gerontologic Considerations sections, Physiology/Pathophysiology figures, and updated Home Care Checklists Nursing Research Profiles and EBP questions help students learn the importance of evidence-based practice. Concepts in Action Animations bring anatomy, physiology and pathophysiology concepts to life.
Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing by
Trusted for 30 years, Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing, A Critical Care Approach, 7th Edition is the only book on the market that provides comprehensive clinical content tailored specifically for perianesthesia nurses. An easy-to-use format with five distinct sections - covering the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations - means you get five books in one. Nursing and pharmacologic interventions are integrated with in-depth coverage of pathophysiology, and updated content includes the latest standards and current issues affecting perianesthesia nursing practice. Focusing on research, documentation, and psychosocial considerations, this is the one book that can take you all the way from being a novice nurse in the PACU to preparing for your CPAN® or CAPA® certification! Updated Evidence-based Research boxes in sections IV and V provide the latest standards of care. Five separate sections?provide comprehensive coverage, including: the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations. Addresses current policies and issues?affecting perianesthesia nursing practice such as patient safety, infection control, managed care implications, pain management, and bioterrorism. Special Considerations section details the care of patients with conditions such as malignant hyperthermia, substance abuse, sickle cell anemia, and cardiac arrest. Comprehensively covers the various types of anesthetic agents to be anticipated in the PACU. In-depth coverage of pathophysiology for all body systems integrated with nursing and pharmacologic interventions. Streamlined format?includes an overview,?definitions, summary, and references for each chapter. NEW and EXPANDED! Updated content covers the latest evidence and standards, including new sedation and pain guidelines, new information on older patients, implications of new surgical techniques, and more bariatric implications. NEW and UPDATED! New illustrations and thoroughly updated references throughout.
Essentials of Perioperative Nursing by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Preferred Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook and Navigate 2 TestPrep. Essentials of Perioperative Nursing, Sixth Edition is an essential reference for new perioperative nurses as well as experienced nurses who need a refresher. Succinct and easy to use, it addresses the basics associated with navigating the perioperative environment rather than a procedure-oriented approach. Ideal for nurses, students, and perioperative nursing staff, it is also a helpful study guide for CNOR certification. Completely updated and revised, the Sixth Edition reflects the most current research findings, literature reviews, and the latest Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN) perioperative guidelines. In addition, it features a greater emphasis on safety, new surgical modalities, and approaches to sterilizing surgical instruments and equipment. Each chapter contains objectives, a lesson plan, study questions, a post-test, and a competency checklist to help organize, assess, and reinforce learning. Navigate 2 Preferred Access also includes Nursing Exam Review: Strategies and Skills, Second Edition, a unique eBook that presents a 5-step approach to answering nursing exam questions and essential test taking strategies. Accompanying each step in the approach are practice questions, anecdotes from nurses who've passed nursing exams, hints, tricks, and proven guidelines. Also provided are numerous new strategies.
Lewis's Medical Surgical Nursing by
Lewis's Medical-Surgical Nursing ANZ 5th edition continues as the most comprehensive, go-to reference for developing the core aspects of professional nursing care in Australia and New Zealand. With a clear framework of person-centred care, critical thinking, clinical reasoning and evidence-based practice underpinning the assessment and management of adults with complex, acute and chronic healthcare issues, the 5th edition provides nursing students with the foundations for developing expert clinical practice. Thoroughly revised, the new edition responds to key health priorities, providing an innovative approach to addressing Indigenous health in Australia and New Zealand. Greater emphasis is also given to the issues of: self-care; examination of the nurse's role within an interprofessional team; and management of the deteriorating patient, to reflect the changing nature of nursing practice in the contemporary healthcare environment. Additional resources on Evolve eBook on VitalSource Student and Instructor Resources Review Questions Conceptual Care Map creator Student Case studies Fluids and Electrolytes tutorial Nursing Care Plans Instructor Resources Test Bank PowerPoint slides Image bank Now available in either hard cover or 2-volume set paperback formats New chapters: Chapter 3: Stress and coping. This chapter explores theoretical models of stress, the impact of stress on human functioning, and strategies for coping with stress in the context of nursing practice and healthcare delivery Chapter 5: Working with Indigenous peoples of Australia and New Zealand. Co-authored by highly respected Indigenous and non-Indigenous academics from Australia and New Zealand, the chapter role-models Indigenous and non-Indigenous health professionals working alongside each other to improve health outcomes, and the practical role that nurses can play to improve the healthcare experiences of Indigenous people. Chapter 69: Recognising and responding to the deteriorating patient. Authored by one of Australia's leaders in emergency response education, this chapter is designed to develop capability in relation to the National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards 2017, specifically Standard 8: Recognising and responding to acute deterioration. Chapter 70: Cardiopulmonary resuscitation: basic and advanced life support. Based on the Australian and New Zealand Committee on Resuscitation (ANZCOR) guidelines, this chapter promotes a problem-solving approach to the management of a patient in cardiac arrest by providing the science behind the techniques and interventions used to treat a patient in cardiac arrest.
Medical-Surgical Nursing at a Glance by
Medical-Surgical Nursing at a Glance is the perfect companion for study and revision for nursing and healthcare students from the publishers of the market-leading at a Glance series. This easy-to-read, accessible guide brings together all the key principles of caring for patients with medical and surgical needs. Highly visual, each topic is covered in one two-page spread, making it easy to quickly read up on key information and grasp the essentials of the key aspects of caring for the adult patient. A clear and accessible foundation of the need to know aspects of medicine and surgery for nurses Takes a systems approach exploring nursing care of key medical and surgical conditions and disorders Covers assessment, nutrition, pain, infection control Supported by a companion website with over 300 interactive multiple choice questions Provides need-to-know information in a quick-reference format Written from a UK perspective, with application to clinical practice A companion website is available at www.ataglanceseries.com/nursing/medsurg featuring interactive multiple choice questions Medical-Surgical Nursing at a Glance is ideal for nursing students looking for a clear and visual summary of care of the adult patient.
Perioperative Nursing by
Perioperative Nursing 2e has been written by local leaders in perioperative nursing and continues to deliver a contemporary, practical text for Australian and New Zealand perioperative nurses. Appropriate for nursing students and graduates entering the perioperative environment, Perioperative Nursing, 2e offers a sound foundational knowledge base to underpin a perioperative nursing career. This unique text will also be of value to those undertaking postgraduate perioperative studies, as well as to more experienced perioperative nurses seeking to refresh their knowledge or expand their nursing practice. Endorsed by ACORN, this edition aligns with the 2016 ACORN and PNC NZNO Standards. It also reflects the latest national and international standards, including the NSQHS Standards, the new NMBA Standards for Practice for Registered and Enrolled Nurses and the WHO Surgical Safety Checklist. This essential title examines the roles and responsibilities of nurses working within a perioperative environment, providing an overview of key concepts in perioperative care. The scope of this book addresses anaesthetic, intraoperative and postanaesthetic recovery care, as well as day surgery and evolving perioperative practices and environments. This edition of Perioperative Nursing by Hamlin, Davies, Richardson-Tench and Sutherland-Fraser includes research boxes where appropriate and feature boxes on special populations such as paediatric, geriatric and bariatric patients. Emphasis is placed on the concept of the patient journey, working within interprofessional teams, communication, teamwork, patient and staff safety, risk management strategies and medico-legal considerations. All chapters have been fully revised and this edition includes two new chapters: 'The perioperative team and interdisciplinary collaboration' and 'Perioperative patient safety'. Supporting online resources are available on evolve. Research boxes where appropriate Feature boxes on special populations, such as paediatric, geriatric and bariatric patients Emphasis is placed on the concept of the patient journey, working within interprofessional teams, communication, teamwork, patient and staff safety, risk management strategies and medico-legal considerations. Now endorsed by ACORN Aligns with the 2016 ACORN and PNC NZNO Standards Reflects the latest national and international standards, including the NSQHS Standards, the new NMBA Standards for Practice for Registered and Enrolled Nurses and the WHO Surgical Safety Checklist Includes two new chapters: The perioperative team and interdisciplinary collaboration and Perioperative patient safety Supporting online resources are available on evolve.
Perioperative Practice at a Glance by
From the publishers of the market-leading at a Glance series comes this new title on all aspects of caring for patients in the perioperative environment. From pre-operative care, through the anaesthetic and surgical phases to post-operation and recovery, this easy-to-read, quick-reference resource uses the unique at a Glance format to quickly convey need-to-know information in both images and text, allowing vital knowledge to be revised promptly and efficiently. Brings together all aspects of perioperative practice in one easy-to-read book Moves through the patient journey, providing support to perioperative practitioners in all aspects of their role Covers key information on perioperative emergencies Includes material on advanced skills to support Advanced Practitioners Each topic is covered in two pages, allowing for easy revision and reference This is a must-have resource for operating department practitioners and students, theatre nurses and nursing students, and trainee surgeons and anaesthetists.
Tabbner's Nursing Care 2 Vol Set by
Written by Gabby Koutoukidis and Kate Stainton, Tabbner's Nursing Care: Theory and Practice 8th edition provides students with the knowledge and skills they will require to ensure safe, quality care across a range of healthcare settings. Updated to reflect the current context and scope of practice for Enrolled Nurses in Australia and New Zealand, the text focuses on the delivery of person-centred care, critical thinking, quality clinical decision making and application of skills. Now in an easy to handle 2 Volume set the textbook is supported by a skills workbook and online resources to provide students with the information and tools to become competent, confident Enrolled Nurses. Key features All chapters aligned to current standards including the NMBA Decision Making Framework (2020), the Enrolled Nurse Standards for Practice (2016) and the National Safety & Quality Health Services Standards (2018) Clinical skills videos provide visual support for learners Supported by Essential Enrolled Nursing Skills Workbook 2nd edition An eBook included in all print purchases New to this edition Chapter 5 Nursing informatics and technology in healthcare focuses on competency in nursing informatics for beginning level practice, aligned to the National Nursing and Midwifery Digital Capability Framework 2020 An increased focus on cultural competence and safety Supported by Elsevier Adaptive Quizzing Tabbner's Nursing Care 8th edition
