Guides: Allied Health: Databases CIAP and more

CIAP

CIAP (Clinical Information Access Portal)

CIAP is a fantastic resource, made available by NSW Health. Think of it as an extensive specialist online Library collection with databases, online journals, e-books, links to procedures and guidelines and much more. In the allied health subject area, aside form general databases such as Medline and Embase you will also be able to access Emcare, PEDro, speechBITE, GARD, and OTseeker. Your StaffLink login can be used to access CIAP offsite. You can also download mobile apps for many CIAP resources such as UptoDate and MIMS.

Ovid Discovery

Ovid Discovery enables you to search across CIAP and Library resources including the Library catalogue, ClinicalKey and ClinicalKey for Nursing. Use the links below to search your Hospital Library holdings

Library Databases (additional to CIAP)

Psychology and Behavioural Sciences Collection
Provides access to hundreds of full text journals covering topics such as child and adolescent psychology and counselling. Access via MyAthens.
Google Scholar
This link is via Athens so you get access to subscription full-text. Google Scholar searches across content from academic sites including publishers, universities and research organisations. Features include citation searching and author profiles.

Trip Medical Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and patient care.

Informit
Search content across health, humanities and social sciences. Full text can be accessed via the State Library of NSW - see State Library of NSW links below.

MyAthens and remote access

OpenAthens
Registering for an OpenAthens account will allow you remote access to Library subscriptions both individual titles and within collections.

Personal accounts

Databases offer additional functionality if you create a personal account. For example if you set up an account in the CIAP Ovid databases (which includes Medline, Embase, Emcare and PsycINFO) you can:

save items into a personal workspace
save searches (so you can re-run them later)
set up alerts on searches (so new items matching your search will be emailed to you)
set up alerts on journal titles (informing you as new issues come out)

For more information, please refer to the Current Awareness section of this guide.